Executive Order of January 27, 2017

By executive order, dated January 27, 2017, President Trump suspended entry into the United States of foreign nationals, immigrant and non-immigrant, from seven countries:  Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, and Yemen for 90 days; and Syria, indefinitely.

On January 29, the Administration clarified the Executive Order, to “deem the entry of lawful permanent residents to be in the national interest.” ¬†Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security John Kelly stated that “absent the receipt of significant derogatory information indicating a serious threat to public safety and welfare, lawful permanent resident status will be a dispositive factor in our case-by-case determinations.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *